Still Skinnyfat after Two Years of Training

I’ve been training for approximately two years and I’m still skinnyfat. My strength has went up slightly but it plateaus all the time. Last year I gained 30lbs during a bulk but very little of that was muscle. I mainly struggle with upper body where my bench is plateaud at around 85lbs for 8 and my OHP at 70lbs for 8. I’ve tried training to and beyond failure and I’ve tried training with a few reps in reserve. It doesn’t make a big difference.

I’m on a good program from a reputable coach and I eat 1g of protein per lbs of bodyweight, sleep 9 hours a night and all that. I just seem to not be able to make progress and it’s really demotivating. Does anyone know why? I havent skipped a workout in over a year btw. Upper lower split.

It’s your diet. Protein intake is great, your lack of comment on fats and carbs is telling.

How long was your bulk, and what role did your coach have in it? Did he advise any on your diet? Did you lose any of this weight after bulking and was it intentional?

1 Like

My bulk was around 10 months and this was before I got my coach. The diet was good tho. Mostly minimally processed whole foods. I used cronometer and both my micros and macros were good

I eat lots of carbs and a wide variety of them and plenty of fat too. Usually about 80g or so per day. Carbs like 400g.

1 Like

You’re really not giving us a ton of information, which is pretty normal in the beginners’ section so I get it.

• What’s your goal?
  • Where are you now?
  • What was your starting point?
  • What is your training history (be specific)?
  • What are you currently doing (again, specific - don’t tell me “I usually do about 3 things for chest and I always work super hard.”)?
  • What do you eat and how often are you consistent (usually folks tell us what they think they should be eating as if that’s what they’re actually eating)?
  • Are you actually being coached in life?