Training for Bigger Calves

Let’s get the ball rolling on this forum!

After the NY Pro result, calves are a bit topical around here.

What do you recommend for those people who can’t seem to get them to respond? On the other hand, those that are naturally blessed, how should they approach their calves? I know some people don’t train them at all but I’m not sure that’s a great idea.

1 Like

The 20-20 Calf Routine

Here’s a calf routine that I’ve been using on my trainees for the last several years. Use a standard calf machine that is performed standing on a four-inch block.

1. Perform 20 strict reps keeping the knees locked, going from a deep stretch to the tiptoes.

2. Then, without rest, do 20 cheating reps in faster style by bending the knees.

3. Perform one set, two or three times per week, and your calves will be stimulated to grow.

5 Likes

Any thoughts on how long to hold the bottom position to not have the achilles tendon contribute meaningfully to the concentric portion?

If you’ve had achilles problems, then you’ve got to be careful with excessive stretching or fast reps. Normally, I would have a trainee spend about 1 second at the bottom.

1 Like

I have used the double-50 routine you advocated in your Nautilus Advanced Bodybuilding book. It’s a scorcher!

You’ve got that right, a real scorcher!

1 Like

I’ll give this 20-20 method a shot!! I like the simplicity and love efficient trainjng

1 Like

More Intense Calf Routine

Now if you calf conscious guys want to go a step farther than 20-20, up the reps to 25 on each set. Then, after 3 or 4 calf workouts, go to 35-35.

I’ve then jumped to 50-50. At 50-50, if you can accomplish that for 4 sessions, your calves will probably be as big as they will ever be.

But at that point, after such a workout, you’d be wise to soak both lower legs for 5 minutes in a waste can full of ice-cold water.