Starting TRT. What to Expect?

I’m in my mid-30s and I’ll be starting 140mg testosterone cypionate once per week.

I’ve been lifting since I was 20 years old. My training and diet are decent (not as great recently as a 30-something with kids and a time consuming job). Even though I’ve been training for the better part of 15 years, my results have always kind of sucked. Yes, I’ve gotten much stronger and put on muscle, but I always had a skinny-fat physique. I was rocking the “dad bod” before it was cool. I’m 5’10" and 180 lbs but probably 15-17% body fat.

I could never figure it out, so in my mid-20s I checked my testosterone levels and total T was in the 300s. Doctor said it was “normal” even though it was in the low end of the reference range. Normal for a 60 year old, maybe.

Checked a few more times over the next few years and it was always in that same range. Last blood work was 256 total T and 5.0 free T.

Over the past few years I’ve also been feeling progressively more fatigued and depressed. Oddly enough, even with these crappy numbers, I’ve never have libido or sexual problems.

I knew I wanted to get on TRT but wanted to wait until I was done having kids. Now that I’ve definitely done and I’ve found a reputable clinic, I’m finally ready to start.

Now I don’t know if having at least ten years of low testosterone is the cause of my crappy gym results, but I’m hoping that getting up to the 800-1000 range will help. Since I’ve been training with low testosterone for so long, do you think I’ll see some big changes in physique and lifts assuming I keep training hard and keep my nutrition in check?

Anything I should look out for or do to get the most out of TRT? I saw some people complain about brain fog and other people say TRT made them sharper than ever. Any clarity on that?

Thanks for the advice.

1 Like