New to T-Nation and Lifting

I’ve been lurking on the site for a few months now reading articles and browsing the forums so I figured it was about time I introduce myself and the beginner section seemed as good a spot as any.

I’ve been lifting hard for about nine months now. When I started lifting the only goal I had was to bench press 300 pounds. Yes, I was one of those guys who basically did bench and/or arms for every workout. Of course, my workouts lacked intensity, consistency, or focus so it wasn’t that taxing to bench once or twice a week and do nothing else. I had never done a squat or any kind of deadlift in my life so as I began learning more about lifting my goals changed to become more well rounded and evolved to include a goal of squatting 405 pounds and deadlifting 500 pounds.

In addition to lifting 5-6 times per week I changed my diet. With the goal of keeping things simple I simply decided to get 200 grams of protein per day from “real” food. To me that meant getting my protein from meat, eggs, and milk and not from shakes or supplements. While protein was the only thing I kept track of I also ate large amounts of fruits, vegetables, nuts, sweet potatos, rice, and Chipotle burritos.

At first it was hard for me to eat that much protein but after a while it has become very easy. At this point 200 grams is my minimum and it’s not uncommon when I look back at the end of the day that I’m at 300-350 grams of protein. I don’t take any supplements except a couple months ago I started taking a preworkout drink. I imagine that as I progress I may start keeping track of things beside protein but as a beginner I wanted to focus on what going to have the biggest impact for me without getting bogged down in the details.