Kind of New to This, Is OVT for Me?

First post, frequent viewer.

I could really use some advice. Just a bit of background - I’m 22 years old. I started training at the age of 16 and continued for about 2 years before. Since this is the internet, I’ll be blunt; I fell in to the wrong crowd and struggled with addiction for several years. About a year ago, I was hospitalized and expected to die.

After some time of recovery and sobriety, I rededicated myself to training. My goal right now is one day compete, though I don’t know if I want to be a bodybuilder or a powerlifter/strongman at this point. I do know that I want to put on some muscle.

Right now, I’m 5’9" 174 pounds. I don’t know my BF% - I had a decent amount of muscle, but I’m somewhat “fleshy” (not fat).

I’ve been lifting for 6 months now. During the first 4-5 months of my training I was doing a full body routine. Up to that point, I was relying on bodybuilding.com as my source for information. After this site was recommended to me by another member of my gym, I began to look for as much information as possible.

While reading the thread “Are you a Begginer II” I came across the OVT program. I was inspired by Chris’s transformation, and decided to give this a try.

It was tough for me to get the idea of, “more often, more muscle” out of my head, though I humbled myself and admitted that I don’t know more about this than the pros.

I’m about to go in to my 5th week of OVT. I have seen some gains since starting the program (bench went from 135 to 145 for 5, bb curl went from 80 to 90 pounds, and I’ve gained a small amount of muscle). While looking for more on OVT on this site, I noticed a post from Chris about how he would have done things differently if he knew then what he knows now.