Big Guy, No Idea Where to Start

Hello everyone,
First, I would like to give a little information on myself. I am about 6’0 and I weigh about 280 lbs. I do carry quite a bit of body fat. I also carry a decent amount of muscle. I’m looking to cut my body fat down, while maintaining my muscle and strength. I’d like to cut my body fat, while gaining muscle and strength, however I know that while eating at a deficit to cut fat and weight, it may not be plausible. I’ve been lifting consistently for the entirety of 2016 after a 2 year hiatus.

I’ve jumped from program to program and have not taken my diet seriously. I have recently dialed in my diet, but I’m still trying to find a program to help me reach my goals. I have recently discovered 5/3/1 and am very find fond of it. I figured if I started using the 5/3/1 program while adding some 5k training(like couch to 5k) on the 3 days off from lifting a week, I may be able to accomplish my goal of leaning up, while maintaining most of my muscle and strength. If course, I’ll be focusing greatly on my nutrition. It’s been 11 months with really only a slight increase in strength. I have got to change the way I am doing things.

I am open to any advice and suggestions. All help is greatly appreciated.
Thank you ahead of time!

First of all, what is a slight increase in strength? Do you have a log? Sometimes I feel like I am not making gains then I look back and realize I am in a much better position than I was a year ago (10% or more gains in strength across the board).

I weigh in the upper 280’s (6’5") and find running miserable, painful and unnecessary.

What does your nutrition actually look like? I am not going to be super helpful in this regard (see: 280s) but its hard to analyze how you can improve without knowing what you currently do.

2 Likes