Beginner Program for My Goals

Hey guys,

I bought the 5/3/1 the simplest and most effective system for raw strength and after reading it I am not sure which one of the templates outlined in the book or online are best suited to me.

I am 5 foot 9, 93kg (205lbs) and I would guess around 35% body fat.

I am a novice and have some preexisting problems, a shoulder impingement and some poor ankle flexion and mobility.

I want to compete in raw powerlifting in a few years but I also want to improve my body composition and get healthy. I am not sure how to set up my training, as a beginner I don’t know how much volume on accessory lifts will impede my progress or how little volume can be done on the big lifts without not getting enough training on them to progress.

I have gained around 60 pounds in a year due to injury, being a lazy bastard and allowing myself to enter sloth mode due to having girlfriend and not having to look good.

My long term goals are to join a raw powerlifting federation and my shorter term goals are to get stronger and start looking bigger and leaner.

I have set up a nutrition template which is high in protein and moderate to high in carbohydrate and fat, calories at maintenance to carry out a two year recomposition.

Would this be a good program to run for a good foundation of strength and muscle or is it too much volume? Plus only doing the main movements once a week seems a bit too low to make much progress, would BBB b a better option?

I am looking for a mix of getting stronger for future powerlifitng but over the next few years build a base and get some big arms, a big yoke and a large back and wheels

The back movements will be changed for chin-ups and then weighted chin-ups when I am able to do them.

OVERHEAD PRESS - 5/3/1
SEATED SHOULDER PRESS - 4X10-15
LATERAL RAISES - 4X10-15
DUMBBELL CURLS - 4X10-15
TRAP BAR SHRUGS - 4X10-15
FACE PULLS - 100

DEADLIFT - 5/3/1
CLOSE GRIP LAT PULLDOWN - 4X10-15
CLOSE GRIP CABLE ROW - 4X10-15