Why Is My Deadlift So Weak?

I can’t seem to get to my goal of 500 on deads. I’ve been around 400 for a set of 5 for 3 months. Maxed at 450 a month ago.I just can’t seem to get anything over 400 up more than 1 or 2 times. Some days I cant get 400 x 5 on my last set. I need help.

my stats are:
I’ve been lifting for 15 months now, doing starting strength for 8 months.(Great program)
37 years old 5’10" 255 pounds 30% body fat by scale
Bench 275x5 x3 sets 315 max
back squat 380x5 x3 sets, haven’t tried to max yet.
over head press 155x5 3 sets
dead lift 400x5 450 max
From my other lifts I feel my dl is lacking.I don’t know if it’s a mental thing or what.
Thanks for any help you can offer on training ideas.

[quote]sunshinboy wrote:
I can’t seem to get to my goal of 500 on deads. I’ve been around 400 for a set of 5 for 3 months. Maxed at 450 a month ago.I just can’t seem to get anything over 400 up more than 1 or 2 times. Some days I cant get 400 x 5 on my last set. I need help.

my stats are:
I’ve been lifting for 15 months now, doing starting strength for 8 months.(Great program)
37 years old 5’10" 255 pounds 30% body fat by scale
Bench 275x5 x3 sets 315 max
back squat 380x5 x3 sets, haven’t tried to max yet.
over head press 155x5 3 sets
dead lift 400x5 450 max
From my other lifts I feel my dl is lacking.I don’t know if it’s a mental thing or what.
Thanks for any help you can offer on training ideas.

[/quote]

You doing a split routine or Total Body Training? If split routine - are squat and deads on the same day or different days?

if you want help, the first step is always to check form. get a video up so we can take a look.

well i had the same problem. id say, mix up yor deadlift workout and maybe try deadlifting from the floor every other week, and the other weeks, do good mornings, rack deads, deads with bands, chains, and some amstring work. i did that. and my dad went up from 385 to 470 and i havent even maxed out on deadlift yet this week.