What's Your Motivation?

I am not sure if this topic was started somewhere else, but I have been talking to some people about what made them start training. To be honest, if you take a step back and look at what we do on a day to day basis, it is not “normal” for most people. It would be much easier to sit on a couch and watch TV. But what fun would that be.

So why are you here? What motivates you every day? Or was there something that triggered you way back when? My bet is that we are going to hear a lot of stories about life challenges that people rose up to meet, and then exceed.

I look forward to hearing your stories.

Unfortunately I have no story to tell. I was always into lifting as long as I can remember…Honestly, since I started football in high school when I was 15 or so, that’s when I started lifting and have kept it up throughout the years, I’m now 30.

T-Nation baby!

It was called T-Mag at the time, but when I was a fat lard ass looking to lose “weight”… I lucked into finding this place.

My life hasn’t been the same since.

I’ve been lifting since I was 14. But it was part of training for track, cross country, and soccer. It’s only relatively recently since I no longer play competitive sports, that my main focus has been strength and size. T-Nation has definitely improved my training (and nutrition-as if not more important) greatly. Since joining, I’ve gone from 158 at 5’7 to 179 about the same bodyfat. Was up to 188 and lost some flub.

I also started training at 14. Football bored me so I just took a PE class. The coach had us hitting weights 3 days a week and I loved it. After an hour of lifting we had to run a mile around the track. After one BRUTAL session (leg day?) I hit the track as fast as possible… This is the one time I’ve ever exercised to the point of losing bladder control. Needless to say, I stopped running and avoided pissing myself by about 1/2 second.