Shooting Pain from Anterior Hip to Knee

I’ve looked though these forums for issues that would answer my questions, but wasn’t able to find anything that relates close enough.

I’ve been powerlifting for about 6 months now, for the past 5 years my focus was on hypertrophy. I think my stats as of right now are pretty decent:

Height: 5’5
Weight: 165 LBS

SQ: 365
BP: 225
DL: 405

For the past month (roughly), I’ve had slowly increasing pain when doing SQ/DL. I believe that squats may have a part in it because my squat style is low bar/wide stance. And my deadliest style is a hybrid of traditional and sumo. I only recently switched to the hybrid style (from originally being strictly traditional about 2 months ago, so I thought it was naturally stressing the hips more.

This is the best way I can explain the way the pain is coming in: When I’m deadlifting and lock out at the top and drop the weight, I feel like I have to keep my legs locked out when stepping away from the platform (think of a penguin). As soon as I break that theres a few seconds of pain that shoots from my anterior hips to knees.

I’ve started taking glucosamine to see if that helps with the knees. Any other advice, or anyone with similar experience?

And just a quick note: I REALLY don’t want to change my lifting style. I’ve progressed so much since I’ve started lifting wide.

Not to assume everyone is the same as me, but if it’s repeatable and is getting worse instead of better, and doesn’t seem to be in the muscles, that leave bones/joints/cartilage.

You should get a good hip ortho and have him do a Craig’s test, show him where the pain is, and get some X-rays. If he’s any good he’ll do all that just from you telling him about the pain.

Check out Fisch’s thread in this forum; several other people have had similar hip issues (to each other, hopefully not to you).