Risk of Injury?

I’m 44 and I recently started lifting. I was a gym member for about a year in my 20s, a classic skinny ectomorph and I didn’t get much results, probably due to under eating.

This time around I’ve aquired some used gym equipment and am working out at home, not at a gym. I’m interested in doing some serious deadlifts, squats and benchpresses, but I’m concerned about injury. I’ve been pretty healthy all my life and have managed to reach the age of 44 without having any significant injuries or health issues. My knees, back, neck and shoulders all feel fine, and I’d prefer to keep it that way.

So here’s my questions:

1. Am I at greater risk of injury that a young guy?

2. Can benches, squats and deadlifts be performed safely without spotters, ot at least other lifters nearby to offer immediate assistance if you’re in trouble?

3. I’ve been using the illustrations in books and websites for instruction on how to do these lifts, but those only get you so far. Do I need to break down and higher a personal trainer to learn to do these right?

[quote]dancar wrote:
So here’s my questions:

1. Am I at greater risk of injury that a young guy?

2. Can benches, squats and deadlifts be performed safely without spotters, ot at least other lifters nearby to offer immediate assistance if you’re in trouble?

3. I’ve been using the illustrations in books and websites for instruction on how to do these lifts, but those only get you so far. Do I need to break down and higher a personal trainer to learn to do these right?
    [/quote]

My opinions:

1-yes
2-you don’t need a spotter for deads and I don’t use one for squats. Bench is better with a spotter. What kind of equipment do you have? If you have a power rack, it should have safety’s of some kind you could use in stead of a spotter.
3-you don’t need a personal trainer. Just T-Nation.

I used to work out alone at home. Now I go to a gym. It’s much better.

Good luck.