Overcoming Pre-Contest Nerves?

Some background info about me: I’m 16, and never cared much about any athletic event until I started lifting. I did a bench only meet last year, and the whole week leading up to the contest, I was feeling kind of anxious, and my appetite was down. I performed just fine. Last week, I was preparing to break my school trap bar deadlift record, and experienced the same thing. In my training log I wrote that I was hoping to pull in the 440lbs-460lbs for one rep. The night before, I started telling my friends that I want to pull 455lbs to smash the current record. It was around this point that I started getting nervous. It was odd. I was never scared or anything (nothing at all like a panic attack from what I’ve read about them), but I kind of had the jitters the last few hours before I went to bed. I got a pretty terrible sleep that night, and woke up at around 4:00 am and fell back asleep around 4:45, and then woke up again at 6:30, and couldn’t fall back asleep (I normally wake up at 7:15, and often fall back asleep and need to be woken multiple times). Anyways, as those of you who read my log saw, I pulled 455lbs for 3 reps. I clearly had nothing to worry about, but I think I was doubting myself. In about a week I’m attempting a 500lbs trap bar deadlift, which seems astronomically high to me (I know, it’s a warm up for a bunch of you lol) , and I feel like I’ll get the same “pre-contest nerves”, except more so, because it just seems like such a big number to me. I’m also doing a full meet at the end of April that I’d like to be calm for.

That was a lot of specific stuff about me, but I’m wondering what methods, if any, do you guys use to relieve nerves pre-contest.

Dave Hoff pukes basically before every meet ( or used to ).

You just need to practice calm breathing and visualization to bring you down. Save the energy for the lifting.

Or say fuck it and go full ray williams and bring all the hype energy.