Natural vs Open Bodybuilding coach

Hello, I’m a 5 foot 5, 208lbs 28year old dude looking to compete in my first bodybuilding show. I have 10 years lifting experience but have never done a bodybuilding competition. Next year 2024 I plan on stepping on stage for the first time.

My question is I have 2 coaches in mind. The first one is a natural coach with no open bodybuilding clients just natural athletes.
The second coach has many open bodybuilding athletes including himself.

Would I be better off getting a coach that is use to open bodybuilding vs the natural coach

…has the most contest prep experience. Disclaimer: He should have helped get some good results.

Now if you are taking AAS, the natural coach might be clueless about contest prep AAS.

1 Like

Seems simple to me. If you’re natural then you go with the natural coach for now. Although, I find that hard to believe if you’re a lean 208 at 5’5”. Obviously if you’ve ever used PEDs than go with the other guy. Natural is not a legitimate option for you anymore.

Assuming you are natty, might as well try that first and with the guy who knows that stage. No need to use drugs for something you’ve never tried.

1 Like

There are a multitude of contest prep nuances. You having never done a show, there are many critical things that need to be considered.

@blshaw and @RT_Nomad are spot on.
If you are natural and your perspective natural coach has a good resume then go with him. If your on gear and the open coach has a good resume then…
Essentially you have 4 components to competition prep
1-training
2-diet
3-posing
4-AAS
Your coach needs to encompass all that apply to you.

@Hearcules when you make a decision on your coach there are some nuances that need to be considered besides the four listed by s.gentz.