Meets in England, 2012?

Hey guys and girls, i have been looking around the web for a raw meet to do around spring/summer in the South east of england (eg crystal palace). I havnt found much in the way of anything, mainly just bench and deadlift (why no squat?) in essex (shudders).

Also, this would be my first meet - complete newb. I just want to rock up with wrist wraps and knee sleves - would this be a problem?

Check out the GBPF site also the BDFPA - both of those are tested feds…

There is also the BPC (non tested).

With the wrist wraps and sleeves - sleeves should be fine, I know with the GBPF you will need to have an approved supplier (Titan, Inzer etc), unsure on the BDFPA though…

Hey man, GBPF and BDFPA are the main two as Adam said. I’d have a look over at Sugden Barbell too, good forum with lots of powerlifter/strongman competitors, also has a a competition section.

I want to compete as well, probably towards the end of 2012/start of 2013 (gives me enough time to sort out my hips and squat)

My medium term goal is the qualifiying total for the GBPF British Unequipped Championships which is 570kg at 100kg and 600kg at 110kg. I reckon you are quite close to if not at those numbers already.

well, im currently at 110kg, 215/220kg deadlift, 205 squat, no idea about bench. gives me something to shoot for

A 3 plates bench and a little bit of natural improvement all round and you are basically there. Would be awesome to compete at a national competition.

Im 103kg and 0/100ishkg squat 200kg dead and 115kg bench, a long way to go!

I’m thinking of competing next year too, probably in the South West, or up North towards the end of 2012 as i’m moving up there in Sept.

I weigh 85kg at the moment with a 230kg deadlift, 130kg bench and 170kg squat. I almost competed this year but decided to drop some weight. I’ll definitely check out those websites!