Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Muscle Loss During Cut

I’m currently running the base Wendler 5/3/1 program with two “easy” conditioning days (10 minutes of intervals on stationary bike) and two “hard” conditioning days (sprints), on top of making sure I get at least 20 minutes of easy pedaling on the bike on my off days. I’ve been eating 3200-3300 calories per day for several months (with somewhat unorthodox macros, but macros that seem to have worked well) and, as such, have gone from 155 pounds to about 170. I’m by no means a real big guy at 5’10" and 170 lbs and am by no means fat; however, I have gained quite a bit of fat that I would like to shed while still maximizing workout performance and minimizing muscle loss. Every post I’ve seen on cutting has been intended for bodybuilding, but I am not a bodybuilder and am under no pressure to burn fat excessively quickly for a competition. I would just like to get back into the 9-11% body fat range while not destroying my lifting progression and hopefully preserving muscle mass. As I’ve always been on the feathery side, I’ve always focused on gaining weight and don’t really know how to efficiently cut fat while working out hard.

That being said, what would you guys advise doing with my calorie intake? Should dropping to maintenance work well, or would it be necessary to create more of a deficit? If the latter, what calorie range would you recommend dropping to? Also, what would be optimal when it comes to macros? I assume the standard 40% carbs, 30% protein, 30% fat would be ideal.

Thank you!

I’m no expert by any means, but I would recommend starting with a 10% deficit based on your TDEE, then tapering that to a max of 20% over a few months. You can play with macros till the cows come home, but you’re never going to beat the system, ie…to lose mass (which fat is a type of mass) you have to eat less than you are burning. You can’t out-train your diet.