Hematocrit Rising

I had my blood drawn at Quest and the results were a little concerning to me only because I am just looking at the lab ranges. Am I being silly ?

RBC: 5.82
Hemoglobin: 17.6
Hematocrit: 51.5%

I haven’t seen my doctor yet and don’t have appointment until 3 weeks. Is this at all concerning ? At the time of this lab I was taking 100mg once a week with an SHBG of 11. I think it was spiking levels but who knows as I am no expert by any stretch. I am not currently on daily injections of 10mg. ( 70mg cypionate a week ).

Thanks all !

PS Hematocrit Rising sounds like a badass movie title now that Im reviewing it lol

1 Like

Maybe a song title from some metal band

1 Like

I wouldn’t be concerned, assuming you are otherwise healthy, have no heart conditions, normal lipids, etc.

2 Likes

lol right?!

Donate Blood… no joke

Prefer not to donate if I don’t have to. I just asked the doc I work with ( pulmonary ) and he wasn’t concerned at all. Said he wouldn’t bat an eye until over 54% or symptomatic. He did say it would be good to take a baby aspirin with TRT though from his experience . I guess that seems like sound advice. Didn’t think he would be in the office today.

1 Like

My endocrinologist is less concerned about hematocrit and focuses more on the hemoglobin values. Recently my hematocrit was 58.5%, hemoglobin 19.1. He only showed concern for the hemoglobin value.

With a secondary erythrocytosis there is an increase in blood volume which enlarges the vascular bed, decreases peripheral resistance and increases cardiac output. Therefore, in a secondary erythrocytosis optimal oxygen transport with increased blood volume occurs at a higher hematocrit value than with a normal blood volume. A moderate increase in hematocrit may be beneficial despite the increased viscosity.