Does Testosterone Temporarily Lower gfr Levels?

I am 37 and have bee blasting and cursing, though blasting more than I have been crusing for the last 4 years and stopped 3 weeks ago. I was blasting 800mg and crusing at around 400mg when I did cruse. I got labs done and they showed that my gfr was like 56 and the doctor said that this normally would indicate having stage 3 kidney failure, however I have no presenting symptoms of having stage 3 kidney failure and said that it could simply be a lab error. However, my second set of labs a week later showed that it went up 1 point. Now the doctor wants me to see a nephrologist. Does testosterone temporarily lower gfr levels?

No, at least that’s what I am saying. Interesting how testosterone gets blamed for everything. I suppose there can be outliers, 37 is young for those levels. I check eGFR twice yearly and just have not seen it. There are few studies showing otherwise, but they are very weak with multiple confounders. There are also some showing testosterone helps CKD, both in terms of slowing the progression and preventing death. Of note, women have a higher risk of kidney disease than men.

I do see the GFR drop in some of the guys. The typical story is they started TRT and decided to clean up their lifestyle, lose the belly fat, gain some muscle and work on being healthy. Now we’re talking hitting the gym and with it, dietary changes. That usually means a high protein diet. This is almost always the case when I see creatinine increase and GFR decrease. It’s common for guys to tell me they’re taking in 300-400g of protein daily. That is the reason I keep an eye on kidney function.

This guy isn’t on TRT, he’s essentially been on a permablast for 4 years (and perhaps has additional cyclic experience prior to BnC).