A New Leaf... I Hope

So long story short…

I’ve been an alcoholic for about 2 years now. Not long considering many alcoholics are for a much longer period of time, going up 10 years or so of daily drinking.

I know I’m an alcoholic because I’ve needed alcohol to function properly. To sleep, to feel normal (except the nasty hangovers), to remove all anxieties in life despite the fact that alcohol makes anxiety and other things worse.

I’ve really had no reason to quit alcohol. I have a crappy job that gives me two 3-4 hour shifts a week (kitchen job). I’ve applied numerous times on a daily basis to any mundane job I can find but still no success. So I finally thought about joining the military. Not all out, just the reserves. But in order to do so I need to get myself in shape again. I’ve been doing 5/3/1 for 3 years so its not like I don’t have anything to work off of. In fact I just recently upped my conditioning to 4x a week considering I wasn’t doing any at all.

Ok so the story was long, but here’s my question. Should I go on a particular diet to improve body comp quickly, or would simply cutting out alcohol for the mean time be enough? I want to get my weight from 210 down to 170 or 180 and reduce my waist size from 38in down to 30 or 31in (I’m 5’9" by the way). I’m planning on doing this by the middle of April, as by May they ship you out for basic training. I’m Canadian just so you know.

Thanks in advance. It seems daunting right now but I believe if I know the right track that I’ll be on I know I can do it. I just really don’t know what to do at this point.

Simply cutting out alcohol will give you some amazing results. I suggest doing this for a few weeks and see how you look/feel and adjust your diet from there.

I’m graduated college this past year and now I hardly ever drink. I have made more progress in 6 months than I did in 5 years of college, simply by cutting out alcohol and being more consistent with my diet.

[quote]Ripsaw3689 wrote: