ZMA for Teenagers?

My last order from T-Nation included ZMA. I bought it primarily because Thibs recommended it, without taking much time to look into it. His reason for taking it was to help with CNS recovery, which sounded reasonable.

When it arrived today I took a closer look at it and realized that its main purpose was to increase anabolic hormones?!

When it comes to supplements and hormones I’m a bit of a noob. I know that a lot of things can increase hormones and are perfectly healthy but ZMA claims to be able to raise T by up to 30%.

I am a 17 year old male. I am wondering if this is at all bad for me… in any way. I don’t want to take ZMA if there are reasonable risks or side effects that may come along with it. Or am I just over-thinking this whole thing?

Thanks in advance,

Alex

I just did a little more reading and am wondering if I should be concerned about ZMA affecting my acne.

Allay your fears young padawan. While I have my doubts that ZMA will raise your T levels to any significance, it will help you sleep more deeply and make you less prone to colds and flu.

It may put your hormones back in balance. Zinc and Magnesium are used by the body. For weight lifters, they are usually deficient in these compounds. This will in turn affect the way fats are used, which in turn affect the way the body produces hormones.

Acne is brought about by the pH imbalance of the oils your skin produce, allowing bacteria to prosper. Wash your face with a pH neutral agent.

Sleep well.

[quote]Foenix wrote:
I just did a little more reading and am wondering if I should be concerned about ZMA affecting my acne.[/quote]