T Nation

Zinc Supplementation Causing Increased Social Anxiety and Other Symptoms

Hi,

I hope you’re well.

I’ve been supplementing Zinc Picolinate 25 mg for the past 2 months and have noticed some strange mental and physical symptoms. Initially, when I began supplementing, I felt an incredible surge in energy, libido and assertiveness. However, as I crossed 1 month or more of daily intake of Zinc Picolinate 25 mg, I noticed some odd physical and mental reactions. I’ll make a breakdown of these symptoms by categorising them in “physical” and “mental” categories.

Physical symptoms (after prolonged supplementation of Zinc)

. Index finger and the muscle below it was twitching frequently on a daily basis.
. Increased aggression and bouts of manic feelings.
. My “flight or fight” mode activates when there’s a loud sound or when my mobile phone lights up (i.e. notifications, incoming calls etcetera). Feelings of anxiety, increased heart rate and a pain feeling around the sternum occured during these situations. This never happened before supplementation.

Mental symptoms (after prolonged supplementation of Zinc)

. Unusual social anxiety symptoms. When talking to someone, I would have random blanks during conversation and felt increased nervousness. Again, this never occured before supplementation.

I have now stopped taking the supplement for 2 weeks and I do feel better. The index finger and muscle twitching has significantly reduced or is almost non existant. I do feel some lingering social anxiety symptoms which I hope will fade away within time.

Did anyone get increased social anxiety symptoms after prolonged supplementation of Zinc?

Did anyone feel their “flight or fight” mode was activated excessively?