Zercher Variations and Other Inventions

This thread is for posting things that I have come up with-that may very well have been used by others first but that I haven’t seen in other places. I have basically trained alone with a power rack, and whatever I can get from the hardware store. A lot of times I will see a “new” exercise on this site that I have been using for 10 years or so.

The first thing I want to get out there is 2 things I have done to make Zerchers more effective and allow more load.

First I put a 6" or 4" diameter PVC sleeve over the bar to thicken it and move it out farther to target the f-ing core muscles, which I will refer to as the “guts” from now on to avoid confusion.

It also makes it easier on the elbow-pit. I know that people have used sandbags and logs for Zerchers before so this is not that “new”

Next, I use a towel over my neck, and grab it to allow greater holding ability (this works for front squats OK too with a cross grip. You can “coil” the towell around your hands if you have to, or even use a strap with handles.

Thats brilliant. I used to try something similar with just a beach towel.

CROSSRACK REVERSE BANDS (doubled)

Here is the method that I currently use for reverse bands. I put double bands across the supports of the rack at the racking level. At the top, the bar is just above the bands. (these are old ratty bands just used for the pics). At the bottom of this particular setup the bands reduce about 75 pounds. The next level of bands reduces 90 and the one above that (standard medium) reduces about 135 I think though I will test it at the 5 hole. At the very top it is all bar. It acts a lot like a shirt. Because the mass of the bar can be high, and the lowering is slowed, the lift is slow but you have to push hard the whole way.

CROSSRACK REVERSE BANDS PART II

Also, you can experiment with different rack positions, but I prefer right at the lock out.

Chain hung double bands