Zen and the Art of Weightlifting

I enjoy working out, but sometimes it feels like the epitome of self-focused narcissism, which feels pretty empty to me.

On the other hand, the concentration, focus, and ability to persist through discomfort necessary to working out seems like it could have great potential as a spiritual ritual, akin to yoga. I guess I don’t fully understand the spiritual philosophy behind yoga.

I would love to hear from you spiritual/religious types (especially Buddhists) how you’ve used weights to aid you along your “path of enlightenment.” What has made working out truly meaningful in the broader scheme of things?

I know that when lifting, I’m focused intirely on the act of lifting. I completly get sucked into the moment, its great.

When I started lifting seriously in my mid twenties it taught me discipline, commitment, focus, planning, goal setting, attention to detail, these skills carried over into other areas of my life.

I can honestly say that it was the beginning of my life turning in a positive direction and it has given me dividends that at one time I didn’t believe were possible.

In fear of sounding corny, I have to say it… getting into fitness and lifting was a life affirming and enriching experience.

Damn… I’m gonna cry. :wink:

[quote]darrenrs wrote:
I enjoy working out, but sometimes it feels like the epitome of self-focused narcissism, which feels pretty empty to me.

[/quote]

If you train solely for looks and spend all your time staring in the mirror I can understand this.

If you train for power, speed and health it is no more narcissistic than brushing your teeth. It is an activity that is extremely good for you and a byproduct is making you more attractive than if you didn’t do it.

Interesting post. I also would enjoy seeing others opinions.

[quote]prophetman wrote:
I know that when lifting, I’m focused intirely on the act of lifting. I completly get sucked into the moment, its great.[/quote]