T Nation

Zack Morris's Welcome Log

Thanks for looking.

I'm new to T-Nation, not new to weightlifting. After receiving my Undergrad in Kinesiology I've been very excited for training. I've been anxious to apply what I paid to learn.

I was comfortably weightlifting over 2011 in the winter and spring at about 180 lbs, testing out some of what I learned. Then in the summer I had to move and sell a house. No training got done for a few months simply because of circumstance. I whittled away to the low 160s and felt terrible. Then in the fall I was able to get after it again and got some good lifting in, made up what I lost.

Over the fall was the first time I actually planned out what I wanted to do, real periodization. My only goal was to get back to 180 lbs and start getting respectable strong again (struggling with 155 is humiliating). I started with some general prep to get ready for the transformation. Then after getting comfortable with exercising and weights again, I hit it hard.

So I have 2 months worth of filled out training logs. One is a pic and I'm gonna throw it up here. It's the second part of a 2 month bulking, from 10/31/2012-12/2/2012. I went from high 170s to low 190s over this span. The first log is the rest of October, and it's where I got my strength back. It's in excel format and I did it poorly so it's a pain in the ass to work with right now. November is a pic so it was really easy.

Anyways, November was awesome. I got a lot of training in and really swelled up nicely. I was able to get in work with Olympic Lifts most of the week too to help nail down form. I'm currently working on core strength and hip strength. I'm trying to take a download from the last few months when I hit it hard. It's been busy too with the holidays and such, so the timing was pretty nice.

But the best part of the download is when you start to get that itch again. That itch to laugh at weight you thought was heavy.