T Nation

Your Way of Cutting

I’ve never gone on a cutting program before, and wanted to start shedding my extra fat (there’s a lot of that). I haven’t measured my body fat, but I estimate it to be 16-18. So I was wondering what do you, the T-peeps do for cutting? I was thinking of running 4 km every weekday, along with attending my martial arts classes 2-3 times a week. I’m not sure whether to add some high intensity energy system work, and reduce my low-intensity running. I don’t have access to a commercial gym, so I train in my basement. I have a treadmill, a wavemaster punching bag, stairmaster, a home gym (which is good for deadlifts, front squats, and bicep curls… not much else), and a chinup bar.
So knowing all that, what are your opinions - how should I go about cutting?
I know that nutrition is a huge part here (perhaps more than the training), but I still haven’t made that leap from training to training + nutrition (one of shug’s blogs comes to mind: he made an observation - first, a trainee looks to training, then, nutrition, then recovery).
So at the moment, I’m asking for the training part of cutting.

Thanks, all!
All advice, comments, and yes, even insults are welcome.

Nutrition IS more important than training! With that said, i would not reccomend the long running at all! For a couple reasons,

1.The long endurance work releases hormones (cortisol) which eat up muscle. You burn a lot more calories, but a lot of that is muscle too, not what you want because this slows down metabolism.

1b. Going with number 1, running is extremely catabolic. In JB’s post workout puzzle articles, he talks about the protein balance after a workout. He says that with long endurance work, protein balance (protein synthesis-protein breakdown) is negative for over 8 hours, so again this kills muscle and matabolism.

1. Long endurance running is very stressful on the joints.

2. Its just not fun!