Your take on leasing a car?

I’m a college student, with a couple years left, and my car is on its last leg. I know leasing a car is terrible in that you never own anything, but considering I only need something for a few years until I can afford something better I’ve been considering it. I’ve been reading a few articles over the pros and cons of it, but what are some personal experiences of those who have tried it?

If you plan on getting into a new vehicle every 3-4 years than it’s a cost effective way to go. If you plan on keeping a car for more than this time period, you will get reamed in the buy out. The other issue is mileage. If you will be putting a lot of miles on the vehicle, it will cost you big time. One option is to lease vehicles that retain their value like Hondas, acuras, high end toyotas, high end mazdas ect. You can usually sell them privately for at least the buyout price of the lease at the end of the term. If you have’nt put too much mileage on it, you can even make a couple thousand profit. This is the only time leasing and buying out makes sense IMO. Not a bad way to go really, lease payments for the vehicle at a fraction of a loan payment, buyout the car after 3-4 years and sell it for a small profit. This won’t likely work on domestic models though.

Fragile -

Leasing a vehicle IMO always makes sense. Even if you but the additional miles up front. Look at it this way. It is an asset. Why buy an asset you know is going to be worth less the longer you own it. Lease it an you do not lose the value each year.

You can sometimes get good deals on leases, but as has been mentioned, pay attention to the mileage restrictions and the buy-out price. Sometimes if a carmaker is rolling out a completely new line or model, you can get a really good deal on a lease – this was the case when Honda rolled out its Infiniti line.