T Nation

Your Greatest Moment(s)!

Let’s hear some stories about people’s greatest moments! Time to get inspired!

Mine are when each of my sons was born…I cried, I’ll admit. Then, when I saw where my adopted daughter had been abandoned, in the worst ghetto in a 3rd world country anyone could imagine (in China), and I knew I was getting her the hell out of THERE, well, that was a good one too.

The place in my heart that I feel most proud of was winning the Spirit of Nursing Award for Academic Achievement and service, given to one nursing graduate in our University every year by the Federal Government.

The day I received the award was the semester after I graduated, and I had to make a speech. I didn’t know I was going to go after Dr. Terry Shintani, author of the Hawaii Diet, one of my longtime role models. I had read so much about him and believed in his studies and theories.

I was so stoked and nervous to meet him, then to find out I was speaking after him, he’s…well…an EXTREMELY hard act to follow. When I addressed the student body in my speech, behind the podium my knees were seriously knocking, but I did it.

The second was getting a letter from the Dean that I was on the Dean’s list. The third was the day I got back my Nursing school aptitude exam scores which were in the 99 percentile, so I knew with my grades and my scores I could go to any school I wanted.

This is sooooooooo goofy and sappy, but if you grew up with very little material things and college seems like something only families with money are able to afford for their kids and you and your family are among the “have not’s”, you may understand why these experiences were so awesome. Although I had done ok in school, I always knew I’d never ever ever have the opportunity to attend college.