T Nation

your dream gym

if money was no object, and your goals were strength/pwer/speed…

what equipment would you fill your gym with?

need some ideas as my gym is doing a re-fit, and we would like to end up with something close to world class facilities when finished

already on the list…

*2 x power racks (already have 1 rack)
*good quality bars (Ivanko/Eleiko)
*lifting platform/s
*some heavy duty benches (ala elitefiness)

• 2 x triple cable crossover (not my idea)

any other suggestions?

id love a reverse hyper, but no one in oz seems to sell them. I have access to a great fabricator who should be able to build pretty much anything i need

so fire away…

thanks

glute-ham raise bench!

I’m not an expert, but here is my take on all that you need at a good gym.

1. Power racks
  2. Quality bars and plates.
  3. Lifting platforms and bumper plates
  4. Quality benches
  5. High and low cable pulleys
  6. Glute-ham benches
  7. Reverse hypers
  8. Dumbbells
  9. Bands and Chains, boards, etc
  10. Maybe even a hip belt squat
    This is not in any specific order, but this basically is all you need to get bigger, stronger, and faster. sure maybe some things are missing, but these are the main things. I’m sure I forgot a thing or two.

hi,

maybe a few various size boxes (from 10’’ up) for squats, step-ups and plyos
I’ll check my list, as trying to open one myself, and come back if find anything missing.
So far, it looks, that falks covered all essentials.

cheers

I think a reverse hyper and a glute ham raise along with the “specialty” bars, cambered, safety squat, texas power and so on should be included. Also bands and chains should be essential.

Safety Squat Bar, Cambered Squat Bar, Glute-Ham Raise, T-bar, Heavy Dumbbelle at least to 150lbs.

anybody think a lat pulldown / row cable machine is of value?

Jammer

Dream gym… You need some odd-lift implements also… thick bars (apollon’s axle), sand bags, maybe a few large stones for lifting.