You'll Get a Kick Out of This

I work at a “health and fitness center” in Florida (I know you guys are already cringing, but this place does have tons of Hammer Strength machines, multiple squat racks/deadlift platforms and free weights). Anyway, I am not a trainer, I work in Customer Service. The other day around 40 or so people came into the gym looking to sign up for the new “Body Transformation” 3-month challenge.

While signing up one particular individual, I asked him what type of weight-training program the group would be following. He then told me “Body for Life.” I had to try to keep from laughing. I then asked a second question, and after this I really had to strain from wetting myself. I asked “Who decided to use this program for you guys?” The guy answered “Your head trainer.”
I nearly fainted. Now I know the trainers at my gym are a bunch of M&F readers and know nothing about serious lifting. But for the head trainer not to come up with an honest program and to use the damn Body For Life program is sad and pathetic. If you have no desire to help these people, stop fucking training them!
I’ve tried to preach the benefits of free weights to members at the gym, but they never listen. Oh well, at least the bench presses and squat racks are always open when I’m lifting.
I just can’t believe how retarded personal trainers are these days!

Build yourself an admirable physique. Have advice ready when they start asking questions at the 3 month mark.

-DI

Well, it’s incredibly profitable to get a bunch of non-lifters to sign up for a year-long membership and then not show up after the second month.

In the short run, it is. But most club managers are smart enough to know that they must get members to use their facilities regularly to ensure longevity. It is a fallacy that clubs want people to join and never use the place; those folks don’t renew memberships.