You Can Get Stronger

OK you whiners here is a little tidbit from the old crab ass.
I am having the best training cycle I have had in 12 years. Last 3 workouts, Squat 345 for easy 6 reps with no gear but a loose belt.
Bench press 6 reps with 300 no gear at all.
Deadlift 5 reps with 415.
Now how in the Sam Hell can an old fart like me make gains. The 345 is best I have done in years, the bench is new pr for reps, and the dead is too.
Well 3 things have come into play.
My technique has improved. I studied the DVD’s of last 2 meets and was shocked by what I saw. So I got some help, from other veterans and my technique is better.
Next stretching. I stretch 1 time at work, then before and after each workout. Big difference in lifting and how I feel.
Lastly, I eat like a Clydesdale. Not junk, but I do allow myself some cheat on Saturday, but clean food. During the week no junk food, no fast food, no sugary treats. Just a heaalthy diet about 1.4 grams protein per lb bodyweight, 25% of diet is good carbs. Low fat.
Pretty damn simple isn’t it. You know 2 younger lifters in the gym are doing this now and seeing results too.
So if you think because you are over 35, 45, or 55 you cannot make gains. Pull the flush handle and get the crap from between your ears.
To my lifting bretheren going to Killeen see ya there brothers. We can celebrate Sunday night.

[quote]Senseial wrote:
I am having the best training cycle I have had in 12 years. Last 3 workouts, Squat 345 for easy 6 reps with no gear but a loose belt.
Now how in the Sam Hell can an old fart like me make gains. The 345 is best I have done in years, the bench is new pr for reps, and the dead is too.
My technique has improved. I studied the DVD’s of last 2 meets and was shocked by what I saw. So I got some help, from other veterans and my technique is better.
Next stretching. I stretch 1 time at work, then before and after each workout. Big difference in lifting and how I feel.