T Nation

Yoga; to Try or Not to Try?

So friends of mine said my perverted ass would love this. And if I want a real work out to give it a try. Not to be so close minded thinking everything starts and ends at the barbell.

This is how she described it to me. 20 - 30 women. All in some kind of tight fitting clothes. All doing lots and lots of nice perverted positions.

But she says here is the catch. Its in 40 degree *C heat. You are forced to sweat your ass off. While giving your muscles a good stretch for long periods of time. I though this could really help since I lost some mobility since I started lifting.

Another part thinks why not just stretch really good like when I was in Kempo. And wtf is with the heat? Is this all what its cracked up to be? I am pretty hooked to the idea of women with tight clothes and there asses in the air.

Anyone try this?? Is it a bunch of hooplah or is there something to it? Guys or Gals?

It's called hot yoga, what you're referring to, and if you can get past losing a bit of dignity, it has a million and one benefits...focus, stress release, the list goes on and on.

I've always wanted to try, but can't get past looking all white guy dance up in there.

Why would you lose dignity by doing yoga?

Come watch me do a one legged king pigeon pose and you'll have your answer, johnnytang.

Yoga is just stretching with some eastern philosophy thrown in to sell it to soccer mums.

Some stretching instructors are really good and can help your strength, balance, flexibility and will give added relaxation benefits.

Other stretching instructors are not well educated about the human body and will have you use stretches that can be bad for you. This is because you do not want flexibility in every part of your body. Your lower back for instance should be trained for stability, not flexibility. Other positions can put undue stress in areas that you wouldn't want it.