Yerba Mate

There was a big thread on this drink a while back but in this week’s Cyborg, Cy defused it pretty good saying that taking caffeine does about the same thing. Any responses from those who talked about great Yerba Mate was? I was thinking of trying it, but it seems pointless now, unless it just tastes really good?

I recently tried Yerba Mate and didn’t experience anything different than I do with caffeine, which I don’t do well with.

I tried it based on the previous post you mentioned and it was a big disappointment.

I like it, it gives me a more relaxed energy buzz than caffiene does. I can fall asleep a lot easier on yerba than I can on caffiene. Yerba Mate mostly contains the xanthine mataine which has slightly different effects than caffiene. I’m not an expert on it, but I think Tampa Terry had some information that showed that mataine had a positive effect on insulin resistance unlike caffeine. I don’t really drink yerba mate for the stimulant effects, I am mostly going for the nutrient content. It has alot of the same nutrients as green tea without all the caffiene. I also like the taste better than green tea, but I wouldn’t say that it “tastes really, really good”. If you drink a lot of green tea it could stand in as a decaffinated version, but I wouldn’t say that it has amazing curative properties or anything like that. I’d never heard any claims of it helping with allergies or whatever until I read cy’s article last week.

I don’t think it tastes all that good, so IMHO that’s not a good reason.

I agree that it’s easier to fall asleep though.

Mr. R., I was wanting to get off of caffeine for a while. Yerba Mate helped me do that. It gave me enough of a CNS kick that I was able to wean myself off of coffee. A “kick” without the jitters is cool. Caffeine and mateine are in the same methylxanthine family, but nonetheless have unique pharmacological properties.