T Nation

Writing a Novel

This is something that I have actually wanted to do for sometime and I really have the motivation now. I believe I have a very good story and I was fishing for any tips, tricks or advice some of you may have.

What I am most concerned with is my grammar and syntax. It's been some time since I have been in school and I think I am just rusty. I am also reading "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Writing a Novel". So far it's had some good information.

This is just one of those things I feel I have to do. I seem to get a great new twist or idea everyday and I think I'll go crazy if I don't get it written.

I'm not a novelist, but I am a writer...what did you want advice on? What tips and tricks are you alluding to?

Check out NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). Every year, they have a month long writing spree where people write a 50,000 word novel in one month. The 'textbook' for the whole deal is "No Plot? No Problem!" Available on amazon.com, or through nanowrimo.org.

Really anything actually. I've never taken on a task that requires as much commitment as I expect this to. Do you have any reccomendations on books for grammar and syntax? Know any really good forums for writers or have tips to help when making revisions? I don't really know what to expect. Lot's of hard work I'm sure.

The novel is a tough art form and I suggest, if you're truly serious about writing, that you take a creative writing class first to test the waters.

There's a million books like that as far as grammar and syntax are concerned. I don't want to recommend any because I've never read any of them, but they're probably pretty standard.

Ironically enough, read a lot, and your novel will be better. That's how I learned to form sentences correctly...just read. Not newspapers, either- read fiction, poetry, and everything in between. You'll pick up phrases and words that you can use, plus, if you find people that have a similar voice as you, it's always a good thing.