Wrists, Hands, Forearms Hate Lifting

Hours after lifting, and especially by bedtime and when waking up the next day, my wrists are killing me. My forearms and even my hands get tight and contracted, almost cramped. I am also a professional musician (piano/keyboards), and it seems that the more my fingers work and contract in either activity, the worse things get.

Anybody else have wrist/forearm/grip issues and any effective strategies to deal with it? I am thinking of wearing some sort of wrist wrap or brace for lifting, and maybe even use straps, which I’ve never tried before. Then maybe ice my wrists afterwards…I looked at wrist wraps, straps, and braces on amazon; there are dozens of kinds, neoprene, elastic, rigid, with stays or without, gloves with wrist wraps, etc. If anyone has any experiences or advice to share, I’d like to hear it.

I’ve had wrist pain in the past. Icing them after a workout helps. I also use wrist wraps on certain exercises. But the most important thing is to avoid or minimize exercises that aggravate… for me this means no straight barbell curls and even have to be careful with ez curls.

What specific lifts cause this?

Everything that involves gripping something – most exercises in the gym. Rows, presses, pullups, pulldowns, curls, dips, deadlifts…everything for upper body except the lateral raise machine and a pec dec machine where I can push the weight with my elbows/arms. Military press might be among the toughest on them. Oh, and deadlifts.

I wouldn’t even dream of doing straight bar curls. Been using DBs. But I haven’t thought of effective alternatives to military press or deadlifts. Or all the other rows and pulls.