T Nation

Wrist Problems During Workouts

I've been hitting the gym for about a month now and I love it but I've been running into some problems constantly with my wrists going out during my lifting routines. I train 1 muscle group per day usually and during my workout, about 60-70% through my wrists will start feeling limp/weak to the point where I can't hold my grip. It's a nightmare for things like bent over rows and lat pulldowns etc.

Is this common problem amongst bodybuilders? Are there any ways of treating it/curing it? I often feel like I have to cut lifting sessions a little short because of what's happening with my grip on the weights. Any thoughts?

Some quick info that -might- help:

I've been using the computer a lot for the last 6-7 years(I work online).
I'm 22 6'2 190lbs and have been going to the gym for a little over a month.
I've been very active with sports throughout my life.

Anything else let me know.

bump

Build up your stamina. You won't have this problem after awhile.

Heavy deadlifts are supposed to help grip strength. Other pulling movements too, eg rows, pullups. These helped me

thanks guys

Very common with beginners. I remember having this too. It does get better with time.

use chalk and do stuff like farmers walks that will tax your grip

theres nothing you can do except strengthen your grip. heres a dilemma for ya though. you can get straps and that will help you develop your back because you will be able to work past grip failure BUT if you use them too much you will not develop grip strength and you'll suffer in the long run.

I personally like to use straps to improve my strength on pulling exercises (shrugs, rows, pullups,ects) This enables me to directly work the back because on pulling exercises your grip is the weak link.. I have read that high rep pulling exercises will bring up your grip and wrists/hands.