Wrist pain

I’m pretty new to bodybuilding (2 yrs) yet I have constant pain around my wrists and sometimes it burns so much I have to put the weight down. It may be because I have very thin bones (a 6.5" wrist) but I always do stretching and never use weights I can’t handle. Anyone knows how to get rid of it ?

Try wrist wraps, I ordered some off the web and they help with heavy benches etc. Wrap them part way up on your hands and they help prevent the wrist from compressing or bending too much. Helped me.

Provided the pain is not caused by something you can do nothing about such as carpal tunnel syndrome or arthritis then there are some things you can do to remedy the situation.
The first thing you’ll want to do is strengthen up your wrists…do wrist curls across a bench and behind your back as well as reverse wrist curls. Another thing I like to do is take a dumbell and rotate it along with your wrists back and forth until you feel a good burn. Lastly make sure you keep your wrist in a locked and neutral position when you’re training…especially when you’re training arms.

Baring any structural problems, perhaps you just need to build up the strength in your wrists. Look at the Great Guns article by Ian King in the previous issues section. He explains wrist flexions and extentions. Another good wrist exercise is to do the same type of exercises using the same handles you use for chest crossovers on the cable machine. Put the handle on a lat pulldown macine or cable crossover machine and curl them both up and down (pronated and supinated)one wrist at a time. It might help.

I have just started doing wrist and forearm exercises. And I don’t want to use wraps and straps of any kind b/c I’m already struggling to make my lift stable. Anyway, thanx for the advice.