T Nation

Wrist/Hand Problem

I’ve been lifting for about the past 7 years and seriously (strict diet and training logs with lots of compounds) lifting since early last year

in the past few months i started deadlifting which means i’m a noob at the exercise at a mighty 1 RM of 250 lbs

for a about a month or so now i have occasionally lost feeling in the first 3 fingers of my hands if i apply pressure at the wrist near the base of the thumb, by losing feeling i mean what you would experience if you sat on your hand for a few minutes

this happens to both hands but much more easily to my left hand (i am left handed)

it doesn’t even have to be a lot of applied pressure, something like laying my wrist on the edge of my desk or chair handrests and within a minute i start losing feeling in my first three fingers (i’m pretty sure it’s not carpal tunnel since the rest of my life hasn’t changed much)

if i remove my wrist and wiggle my hand around the feeling quickly returns to normal

within this same time period my grip strength has gone up dramatically due to the deadlifts and all my other grip-dependent lifts like chinups have significantly improved as well, i don’t get these freezing issues during lifting as my wrists are not in direct contact with any surface

anyone have an idea what the hell is going on ?

why did it take you 7 years of training before you started deadlifting? lol :stuck_out_tongue:

It could be a nerve problem or something cutting of the circulation to your hands.

That’s all I could come up with, it’s never happened to me or anybody I know.

good luck dood.

Gerdy

Well, it could easily be CTS. Most CTS cases are idiophathic, therefore the absence of life changes is largely irrelevent.

Interestingly enough, you seem to describe Durkan test, or the carpal compression test where you push down on the palmar aspect of your wrist(generally with the other hand’s palm) for about 30-60s and that should reproduce the symptoms.