Wrestling Season

Ok, Seasons coming up real soon. I’ve been lifting for 9 months, clean diet. My team is Nationally ranked and I typically lose 3-4 lbs of water weight in practice. I would be able to workout in the mornings, 8 hours before practice…I’ve been doing a 5x5 program and am wondering what program i should use during season to maintain muscle(strength not hypertrophy). Thanks

3x3, big lifts only. deads, overhead press and chins. Wrestling training should take care of all other things. I’d do 1 light set as a quasi warm up, then ramp up each of three successive sets, nowhere near failure, every other day at the very most, maybe 1 on, 2 off.

Seems to me that during the wrestling season your goal is to maintain your strength and power, not to try to improve it. That’s would the last 9 months was about. I would suggest weight training 2-3 days per week, max. Maybe 1 explosive movement (olympic-lift varient) and 2 other exercisies in each training session (big exercises like Squat, Deadlift, Bench Press and Heavy Rows). I think training with lower frequency and volume at a reasonably high intesity is a good idea. Something like 3-5 sets of 3 reps per exercise at say, your 5 RM. The training should be challenging but not balls-to-the wall full out. Don’t go to failure. You may also lift relatively light weights the day after a strenuous match or training session as a means of active recovery, but this is not really a weight training sessions in the same sense that I am talking about.

Perhaps you could do something like this:

Day 1: (1) Power Clean 3x3; (2) Full Squat 3x3; (3) Bent Row 3x3.

Day 2: (1) Power Snatch 3x3; (2) Full Squat 3x3; (3) Incline Bench Press 3x3.

Seems to me that the second session should be the one that is closer to your next match since the Power Snatch is a less stressful movement than the Power Clean and your body will recover from it faster.