Traditional Elk’s training log

Been lurking T Nation for a while & decided it was time to start my own log. I’m heavily influenced by the time I spent wrestling, hence the name of the log.

About me

I’ve been training for 8 years, starting when I was 16. In high school, I was playing sports all year round, so training was always second priority. After graduating, I started CrossFit, which I focused on for the next few years. For about the last year, my main focus has been on getting bigger & stronger, though crossfit still has some influence on how I train.

**Recent training **

The last three months, I ran two cycles of 5/3/1 BBB straight into building the monolith. I got my weight up to about 195 (at 5’ 10”). I am now taking a break from gaining (planning ~6 weeks) during which I am running 5/3/1 PR sets with FSL widowmakers. I take almost no rest days, doing some form of conditioning on all days that I am not lifting, & on many of the days I am lifting.

Will update this with more info later if anyone has questions

Todays training

Week 2 day 1 5/3/1 PR sets & widowmakers

Press
3x120, 3x140, 10x160, 12+6+2x120

Superset w/
Band pull aparts 5x20

Giant set
4x10 incline bench (2@135, 2@155)
4x15 chins
4x12 hammer curls

Rest pause 50 dips

Conditioning

30 minute airdyne- 12.5 miles

Notes

Press is a lifetime PR. Previous best ever was 155x9

Dips have been getting stronger as well. Able to knock out big sets to get to 50 with relatively little rest.

This is my second week doing incline bench…pretty much ever. Still adjusting to it, so not too aggressive with the weight. That said, 155 was still challenging by the end.