Wrestling Prep

So I’m a wrestling coach at the high school I teach at. I decided to keep a log to see what I do, how I do it and what anyone has to say about what I do. I’m using a plan that my brother (who is a trainer) developed.

ME Lower

Back Squats

95 x 10
135 x 5
165 x 5
180 x 5
200 x 5
235 x 5
265 x 2

Form wasn’t as good on the last set, max is 65 pounds higher than when I worked out regularly in high school about 9 years ago.

Bulgarian Split Squats

30 x 12
30 x 12
35 x 12
35 x 12

This was my 2nd time doing this exercise, felt better this time, used my leg more than the back unlike the first time.

DB Sumo Squat

20 x 12
15 x 12
15 x 12

The weight felt a little light but I was feeling it more in my back at that point then the glutes and hamstring. Only on the last set did I really feel it in the hamstring.

Sit-Ups

20 reps x 3 sets

1st set was easy, 2nd set got through the first 15 no problem, worked on the last 20, on the last set it was work after the first 10

Played an hour of basketball after. Good workout overall.

Feel free to comment, any advice is appreciated.

[quote]flfenway wrote:
So I’m a wrestling coach at the high school I teach at. I decided to keep a log to see what I do, how I do it and what anyone has to say about what I do. I’m using a plan that my brother (who is a trainer) developed.
[/quote]

I’m the brother, and just to clarify it’s just a tweaked ws4sb program. I wish I could take all the credit for it but nope, DeFranco’s the man.

Good to see you posting here bro, it’ll be easier to keep tabs on you from NY. Nice avatar too, except Manny’s dodger blue and white now, but that’s a different forum…

Good to see you going for it, good luck!

edit: actually read the workout, oops, you can go heavier on those db sumo squats bro. Remember it shouldn’t be too easy, I think Bartl on this forum said it best, pick a weight you can do for 8 reps, then get 10.

[quote]scubasteve2105 wrote: