T Nation

Would You Drink It?

Hey guys, I just got back from my university gym where I work as a casual trainer (Full time 3rd year Uni student too). Anyway my boss gave me a box of "Up and Go" that were about to expire in a month.

To those not from Australia (I?m not sure if they have it in the States so please correct me if I?m wrong), Up and Go is a protein shake/energy drink manufactured by a local health food company known as ?Sanitarium?.

On the packet it reads ?high protein, low GI, 98.5% fat free?, and under the nutrition information, per 350ml serving(1packet): protein is 20.7g, total fat is 5.3g, of which 0.7 saturated, 3.2g polyunsaturated, 1.4g monounsaturated, carbohydrate is 39.6g of which 25.2 is sugar. Nothing really wrong with that but I was pretty stunned and disappointed when I read what the beverage contained. Bare with me guys, ?Filtered water, skim milk powder, cane sugar, SOY PROTEIN, wheat maltodextrin, whey protein, sunflower oil, fructose, chicory inulin, Hi-maize starch, cocoa, etc etc?.

Now most of us know that SOY protein is the ?devil? to us male weightlifters albeit its nutritional benefits to females. My question is, to drink or not to drink. Each packet is about Australian$2.50/ US$1.92 and I have 15 packets altogether. Should I just ignore the soy protein and drink it or should I throw it all away? One packet may be fine but if I drank all 15 in a month, would the soy leave its damaging effects on my body?
What would you do and what do you think?

I wouldn't touch that castrating protein with a 10 foot pole. Give it to some hottie at your gym. :wink: Tell her it was free, so you have no problem giving it away, especially since you're A MAN and have no use for soy protein yourself. See this will set up the whole "I'm a man, you're a woman..." vibe. Good luck.

Soy protein is poison for men, women, and children period!

Nope.

Id feed it to the neighbors dog, wouldnt even let my dog have it.