T Nation

Worst of T NATION: Bench

I'm nominating myself for the award, I believe I'm yet to see anyone claim any less then around 225x6 on these boards? Certainly outside the beginner section.

I've gone from 133 starting weight to about 192 since I started training. The rest of my lifts are within reasonable range in comparison. I will say this may be a large part down to avoiding direct arm work for more then half of my training career. Anyhow, am I the only serious (training 5+ times a week, eating to gain) trainee with such a truly terrible bench press? I bench 80kgx7 full rom (plate and half), whilst it doesn't make it any more respectable, I like to think I'm doing more work then those "bro benching" every rep of 90kg... It's a fairly average weight at a gym in England full of athletes & bros..

Edit: I'm a noob and take back my statement.

What do you do on days you bench?

That bench would be well above average in 99% of gyms in England. Obviously on here it isn't. I think its due to Americans having it bred into them at school / seeing the NFL combine etc. From what I gather, they're encouraged to weight train for sport at school. I was discouraged because I wouldnt grow blah blah blahhh. All throughout age group levels of rugby I was told to only do press ups and situps, strictly bw exercises. I can't even bench 100x 6, but I will in the next few months. Until the schooling is changed, imo, and we're encouraged to weight train then things won't change much over here. That's just from my experience though.

I'm not saying any numbers but I'm not at all proud of my bench, considering I'm 255lbs and been training for 20 years.

Day 1: Chest & Triceps
-BB Bench- 3x6-8
-Incline bench- 3x8-10
-Bench Flyes- 3x8-10
-CGBP (few inches off chest)- 3x6-8 [actually dropping these, no chance after chest work]
-Close-grip EZ tri ext.- (bar doesn't come past eye level) - 3x8-10
-Tricep rope extensions- 3x8-10

Day 4: Shoulders & Triceps
-Standing military press- 3x6-8