Worried About Career Path

Because I like these forums so much and can always count on a very diverse group of responses, I figured what better place to ask a question than T-Nation?

Here’s the deal…

Since being medically disqualified for military service back in 2008 (I never served, but attempted enlisting when I graduated that year) I’ve held several different jobs. None of which I have enjoyed, with the small exception of my current job.

I’ve been a grocery store clerk (Who honestly likes that job as a young adult?), a plumber’s apprentice, a hotel employee (Worst. Job. Ever.), and am now currently an IAQ (Indoor Air Quality) technician. IAQ isn’t too bad if you like small, dark spaces with poor ventilation and don’t mind being covered in dirt or grease all the time. IAQ and plumbing have been with the same company for any who care to know all the details…

I’ve had an odd relationship with the company I work for. Over the past 3 years I’ve been on and off with them because of being laid off several times and attempting to try my hand at other careers. After I got laid off the first time I got a job at a grocery store and jumped at the chance to go back to plumbing. During my time as a grocery clerk I had been looking into moving to Florida (I live in Vermont) to go to one of those motorcycle schools to work on bikes. Needless to say that didn’t work out, so I stuck with plumbing until, you guessed it, work slows down, Hodgie gets laid off. That’s when I worked at a hotel for a few months. That was a living hell and never again will I work in a hotel. After that I finally got rehired yet again and I’ve been working here ever since. Between being a hotel clerk and getting my old job back, I looked into going to school for a Criminal Justice degree.