T Nation

Workouts That Ain't Worth Crap

I'm so flippen down about my workout last night. I honestly felt like I was pushing myself, and today I feel like I didn't do squat.

Usually im all swollen and feel great, but this time I just feel like a log! What's the deal?

Eaten good, protein for days...tuna/oats/olive oil/sups and taken my creatine...haven't changed crap.

I backed off for 2 days due to a shoulder clicking, but made an effort to hammer myself last night.....SIGH...

well how long have you been training, have you taken any considerable time off, more than 2 days. like a week. maybe your body is telling you something!

I have been doing this for about 3 months now. (not a long time)
5'5" 132lbs to now 149...

Doing well, just seems like after I backed off (not stopped) a couple day this last workout was a waste of time....

Don't feel tired or beat up or anything, just like I didn't even work it....

Time to up the weights I guess....

since you've only been at it for a couple of months.
to make a long story short, two things could be happening.

1 you may not be eating enough carbs, and this would cause you to fell as if your battery is running low.

2 it is common for men to produce estrogen espescially under stress.

and if you combine the two.
you would be feeling like crap or maybe even bitchy.

Don't judge a workout on how it makes you feel. That's subjective and changes constantly. Judge it based on results you get from it. Charles Staley says something to the effect of "Don't judge the efficacy of a workout by the amount of pain you're in afterward." You may get sore, or you may not, but if you're making progress, that's what counts.

Don't let one workout get you down. Get psyched for the next one. Everyone has bad workouts once in a while. Sometimes it means overtraining, sometimes it means stress, sometimes you're just tired when you go into the weight room. There are tons of possible reasons.