T Nation

Workout Advice & Nick Evans

I’m new to T-Nation & am sort of a beginner for really directed workouts. I am 49 in pretty good shape(?) & have been following the book by Dr. Nick Evans [“Men’s Body Sculpting” c.2004] on working out. Have been going to the gym for 3 yrs now & try to eat right & all that good stuff.

Recently had a trainer for 5 sessions & he said the Evans book was all wrong. I shouldn’t do supersets but just do cycle training where you switch quickly from one machine to another for 1 set of 12 reps on each. I can’t understand the reasoning behind this & am really looking for a good guidance for body building.

I don’t want to compete or engage in sports: just body building. My chest is okay but I’m having trouble with my arms. The beginner section here talks about “why you should go to the gym” and now, at 5x/week, I’m beyond that.

I get very little NEPA (or general non-exercise phys activity) since I own a computer modeling firm and can’t take time off during the day for long walks.

I feel that my gym trainer was not very good but I only had him for 5 sessions.

Hello and welcome

Firstly, at the upper-right corner there’s the search function. Or google in general. Something like ‘starting out bodybuilding’ should do the trick. One of the best ways to avoid redundancy is to search for topics that had already been discussed. Which is pretty much all of them.

Basically, bodybuilding is about figuring out your own body. There’s no magical programs, set/rep combinations or supplements. There are people who put their mind to it and excel with the ‘worst’ programs. While most people read all the best scientifically sound programs and never see any changes.

The general bodybuilding guideline is to eat a surplus of whole food in 4-6 meals throughout the day, while lifting weights. Lifting should be done with force and control, while maintaining focus on the target muscle(ie bench press = chest doing most of the work, not tris and shoulders).