Working Out Right After Waking

Hello,

I ran a search on this but didn’t turn up anything recent.

For the last few weeks I have been waking up at 5:30, drinking a few glasses of water, walking straight out to the garage and working out. I’m a beginner so nothing to heavy. This morning I did three sets of 12 reps- barbell shoulder press, push-ups, chin-up/pull-up, bent over dumbbell rows, tri pull downs, curls and finished up with 10 minutes of hard cranking on my new to me concept 2 row machine.

Immediately after I eat a 1 scoop whey shake with some berries, banana,yogurt and milk for breakfast. Two handfuls of blanch almonds at 10a.m…

I’m up from three times per week to five, so I guess that parts good. I do feel strong and seem to have relatively good sessions. Seems to help me with energy for the remainder of the day.

I’ve read all kinds of different opinions on both early work-outs and working out on an empty stomach.

I’m pretty sure at my level it doesn’t matter much but I’m still curious about your thoughts and opinions on both early and empty training.

I always train before 10am (just how my schedule is) unless I decide to go in a second time during a day.

But I always have a protein bar or something on my way. But yeah. I never have a problem with energy or recovery. Especially if I eat just before bed.

I wake up anywhere from 5:30 to 7 am every weekday (changes every semester, I’m in college) and have been doing that for 2 years now. I prefer it because the gym is WAY less crowded, and it gets my training done before “life” can take over my time for the day.

I take a protein/carb drink within 10 minutes of waking and am lifting within 50 minutes of rolling out of bed. It works fine, don’t worry about it. My issue is I always get tired after working out. That’s the only negative I have from early morning lifting.