T Nation

Working Out, It's An Addiction

I have a quick newbie question. I have been working out for a few months now and I am becoming extremely addicted to working out. I have gone from 2-3 rest days, to maybe 1 a week if that. I know not allowing my body to rest will hinder results but I find my self a little irritable and anxious if I don't workout for that day.

Instead of lifting weights I began playing basketball on my "rest days," however I am trying to bulk as I am very lean so playing basketball is probably hindering results as well. Does anyone else get antsy on their rest dasys like I do, and is playing basketball on my rest days really going to hinder my results???

Even though you're new to the Iron Game it sounds like you've done a little reading, so what I'm about to tell you may not be that revolutionary, but here goes anyway.

You only grow at rest not in the gym. The gym is where we all go to tear up the muscle fibers and the kitchen and bedroom are where they grow back bigger and stronger. However if they don't get enough nutrition and recuperation you go into a condition known as overtraining which can set you back and frustrate you to no end. It can even cause injuries. So lighten up a little. More isn't better in this situation. There is sometimes a fine line between overtraining and not training enough. It sounds like you are already putting in too much gym time let alone playing Basketball.

I recommend you train a full body routine like Chad Waterbury's training program appropriately titled "The Waterbury Method" and can be found here http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=534922 Follow his advice to the letter and you will make great gains.

I recommend if you're trying to bulk to stay away from Basketball for a while, too much cardio and too much cardio is catabolic (muscle wasting). I hope this helps.

Good luck,

Overtraining is brought up way too much. I used to be scared to death of it.