T Nation

Working Out.... At Sea!!!

Hey,

I don’t know that I’m exactly a beginner, I’ve been working out for 3 years or so, last year with a trainer. Anyway, I’m a marine biologist, and I’m going to be on boats 5 out of 7 days of the week for the next 6 months.

I’d like to keep working out, but there wont be a gym on board (these are like 9 meter fishing boats…). Anyway, I guess I’m wondering if there are any specific routines I can do? I was thinking about skipping rope, burpies for HIIT and then hopefully finding a pull-up bar of sorts on board, and somewhere to do dips…then maybe I could also do pushups and planks, and jump squats and jump lunges for legs.

Any more exercies or guides to exercises where one doesn’t have access to a gym? My current goal is fat loss, as I’m still sitting around 15% b.f., coming down from about 24% a year ago. I do probably 4 cardio sessions a week, 2 sustained(5km run), 2 HIIT (sprints). But now I cant really do that. I need fat loss routines for limited space and zero equiptment, except maybe some heavy stuff i find lying around on board!

i have never been optimistic with bodyweight routines

[quote]acropora1981 wrote:
Hey,

I don’t know that I’m exactly a beginner, I’ve been working out for 3 years or so, last year with a trainer. Anyway, I’m a marine biologist, and I’m going to be on boats 5 out of 7 days of the week for the next 6 months.

I’d like to keep working out, but there wont be a gym on board (these are like 9 meter fishing boats…). Anyway, I guess I’m wondering if there are any specific routines I can do? I was thinking about skipping rope, burpies for HIIT and then hopefully finding a pull-up bar of sorts on board, and somewhere to do dips…then maybe I could also do pushups and planks, and jump squats and jump lunges for legs.