T Nation

Working in Hot Humid Weather, Bad Training Week. Reset TM?

Hey all- kind of in a strange situation with my training and work. I have a log in the training section and the whole situation is laid out in there, but the general idea is this…
Doing 5/3/1 with PR sets, then fsl 5x5 for all movements.
I am Deloading every 2 cycles.

I was making good progress on all lifts (except OHP), hitting well beyond the recommended reps for + weeks, I’m still pretty new to lifting which is why I think that is the case.

Recently work has gotten pretty intense. From the weather changing to real summer weather (85°+ with high humidity) in upstate NY and much longer hours than typical due to AC season, it’s taken a serious toll on my body and training. I am a commercial heating and cooling service technician so I’m typically on roofs, boiler rooms etc. All unconditioned areas for the majority of the day.

Here is the questions I have-

This past week my lifts have been abysmal. For example last cycle my deadlift on 1+ week was 325x8. This week I only managed 335x1. I don’t know how long work and the weather will be this way, so I’m looking for a work around for the time being. I am scheduled for a deload week- which I am definitely taking, and thinking of possibly re setting my TM back to 90% of it’s current value for the week after.
Does this make sense to do?
Should I get rid of PR sets for the time being and switch to 5’s?
Should I remove the fsl sets and slowly work them back in over time?

It’s crushing the confidence I have built over the past year or so just to have it seemingly stripped away in a week, especially when I was progressing, in my opinion, so well.

Sorry for such a long post

Hello Boilerman

It’s clear that your current intense workload and temperature increase have taken a toll on your body and it’s ability to recover.