Wondering About My Body Type/Leverages

Hi there,

I’m just a beginner in powerlifting and have been training for 2 years. My deadlifts have never felt right. I believe my knees keep coming forward so I don’t maintain vertical chins, but also I find it impossible to get the optimal back position. If I try to get my back at 45 degrees then my hips will be way to low and I lose tightness, if I keep it higher my back rounds. I never get pain from deadlifting, and a physio I’ve seen said I’m ok to deadlift with a rounded back based on my joint structure and whatnot.

What can I do to improve my technique? I’ve tried stretching hamstrings numerous times already. I do Stiff legged deadlifts and romanian deadlifts.

I would also like to know what you think my body structure is? (length of torso, legs, arm) based on the form I’m using, so perhaps I can use that knowledge to adjust based on my leverages. I would say I have pretty shit or average at best leverages for deadlift though.

Thanks!

Deadlift video:
(https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5-RUlMGD76vSTV1cUIxNEJYLVU)

You’re rounding your back throughout the deadlift because you start with it rounded. You never get into a good position before you initiate the pull, and it’s very concerning. Think about tightness when you set up. You’re very, very loose here. You CAN start with a neutral spine when your hips are high, you’re just not doing it. Once you set your hip height, force your spin into a more neutral, flat position.

As a side note, your second deadlift in the video was not locked out at the top. Knees still looked bent, would have gotten red lighted in my opinion. Stand up straighter to finish the lift.

1 Like