T Nation

Wisdom from the Free Weight Area

We all know that's where the really smart kids are.

So I overheard this pearl of wisdom yesterday. When asked why this kid was jumping from one stupid pussy exercise to the next, he answered: "I don't have a training schedule. Schedules hamper your progress".

O..o

and that is why he will never make any progress and probably be jumping around on the same machines, at the same weight, in a years time...

LOL you didnt know that? noob.

Last Fri. night I went into the weight room and there was this guy standing on a bosu ball with 15 lb. db's in his hands, swinging his arms and thrusting his pelvis in what I can only describe as a Nordic Track motion. He was really going at it. I had to consciously try not to stare.

So I grabbed my 40 lb. db's and started doing presses on the bench next to him. I'm still a newbie and know this isn't exactly impressive. But then this big guy in an Army shirt with a VERY impressive physique walks in and just stops dead, looking at both of us, and starts laughing like a hyena. I had to stop lifting, I couldn't help but giggle.

The poor bosu ball guy ended up leaving. I felt kinda bad.

I guess this would be Squat Rack Curls, Vol. 2.

"Schedules hamper progress"... Hilarious

That's pretty funny. I wonder if he also believes that working too hard will also hamper your progress.

I don't want to get too big.

Awesome.

This is what happens when dumb people hear other lifters talking. That sounds like he misinterpreted, "I don't have a set schedule" as meaning, "I just walk into the gym and do whatever I see first".

Some guy at school yesterday told me that working with less than 6 reps was bad because my muscles would grow like balloons and that I had to work with 10+ reps to build definition. I didn't know where to start the argument so I just walked away.